Configurability is a core concept in LiveTiles Intranet Hub. Every hub instance has a JSON configuration that determines which Widgets should be displayed, the general layout and theme of the hub instance, as well as features and hub pages. Changes to the configuration of a hub instance is only allowed for administrators. See section Add Additional LiveTiles Intranet Hub Administrators for a guidance how to assign users this role.
The action menu can be opened by clicking the action menu icon in the Megamenu:
Global Settings Editor
You can access the Global Settings pannel by selecting
Edit Global Settings from the action menu. At the moment, the following global configuration options are available:
- Title, logo and features
- Manage Pages
Page Layout Editor
You can edit the page layout by selecting
Edit Page from the action menu. This will switch the page to an edit mode, where you can rearrange and resize webparts for layouts from 2 to 4 columns. Additionally, for each webpart you can open a JSON editor to make changes to the configuration of the webpart. You can add or delete webparts using the corresponding buttons.
JSON Configuration Editor
The configuration of a hub instance is editable by admins in the configuration editor. The editor can be opened with one of the following key combinations:
CTRL + Mor
CTRL + ALT + M: Opens the config in the same tab / window
CTRL + SHIFT + M: Opens the config in a new tab / window
Saving changes to the configuration will create a new version of that configuration. A maximum of 10 configuration versions are kept indefinitely in the database. If you surpass the limit of 10 configurations, every new version will be stored at the expense of deleting the oldest version of that configuration in the database.
You can switch between versions using the
Current version dropdown on top of the config editor. In order to use an older version, you need to select that version and save the config. This will actually create a new version and, subsequently, increase the number of configuration versions you have (thus deleting the oldest version if you have surpassed the limit of 10 versions).